About Willow!

Hi there. I’m Willow! I'm a theologian and spiritual director, informed by multicultural and neurodivergent experiences on the margins of society. I am also a visual artist, writer, brand communications consultant, and former community organizer. 6w5, INTP. Isaiah 61:1-4. 🌳

Things I'm doing now:

- Since 2021, I have been in a ministry school and working toward a three-year diploma in divinity, as well as a two-year diploma in ministry. A lot of other things have gone to the backburners.

- I'm relearning art, now in digital form. I bought a Wacom Intuous tablet some time ago. Also: I am trying to reestablish a habit of creating art on a regular basis!

Community engagement:

There was a time when I was very actively engaged in the community as a volunteer, both on short-term and long-term assignments. Since I moved away from the city of Portland, I have cut down on this due to the time and money it requires to go into the city (and there aren't many local opportunities).

My current involvements are all something I can do remotely.

- OpenStreetMap (since 2017): Mainly I observe changes in the local community as I walk or bike, and update any information on local businesses and building uses.

- The Spotter Network (since 2024): I observe and report weather events such as hail and tornadoes (which are rare in this part of the planet). The Spotter Network has a close working relationship with the NOAA National Weather Service.

- Community Collaborative Rain, Hail, and Storm Network (CoCoRaHS - since 2024): Using a Stratus rain gauge, I measure daily precipitation. The data is used by meteorologists and hydrologists, as well as being made available to the general public on maps.cocorahs.org. CoCoRaHS also has a close working relationship with the NOAA NWS.

Fun things I have done:

- 2018-2020: I ran a small art gallery inside a retreat center in Oregon's Coast Range, and curated rotating monthly shows (the last show, held in 2020, was fully virtual in Second Life and OSgrid due to COVID-19!) and hosted a few other events.

- 2008-2016: I have exhibited my art in several galleries and art festivals during this period, including having two solo shows (at Secret Hideout Studio and TaborSpace).

- 2011-2015: I was a very active member and organizer of the Occupy movement, including serving as a board member of a related non-profit 501(c)(4) corporation. In October and November 2011, I spent a total of 40 days in the encampment!

- 2005-2006: I was a member of the Liberty Hall Collective, a non-profit community center/event space run as a workers' collective in Portland, Oregon.

- I have been an art model for local fine artists of photographic and non-photo media, as well as for non-instructed life drawing groups.

- 1995-1996: I was in a bizarre long-distance relationship when I was too young to have much discernment. One time, during our infatuation phase, we were on the phone for a full 12 hours straight, between Seattle and Calgary.

- 1995-1996: I took journalism classes in college and soon I took over the production and editing of the college newspaper. It was when newspaper production was gradually becoming digital. Adobe PageMaker was my friend (although I did all the production on an Apple PowerMac, digital photography was still not a thing and flatbed scanners did not produce quality scans, and sending a weekly issue of a 16-page tabloid paper over the phone line to the press would have taken several hours, so we still used halftones, light tables, and X-Acto knives!).

A lengthier "about me" statement for professional use
CoCoRaHS precipitation map
OpenStreetMap

~~~~~  

return home